Mo Salah named PFA Player of the Year

Liverpool’s charismatic forward, Mohamed Salah has won the PFA Player of the Year award for the 2017-2028 season.

Salah beat Kevin de Bruyne, Kane, Sane, David Silva and David de Gea in the vote by his fellow players.

Sane won the Young Player prize, while Fran Kirby of Chelsea won the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Lauren Hemp of Bristol City was named the Women’s Young Player of the Year.

“It’s an honor and especially as it’s voted by the players. I am happy and proud,” Salah said.

“I didn’t have my chance at Chelsea. It was clear I would return and show everyone my football. I think I left and came back a different person, man and player.”

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp said he was “happy to have the opportunity” of being Salah’s manager and added it was an “unbelievable honor” to win the award.

“It’s been a fantastic ride, but we still have games to go,” Klopp said. “But please grab the trophy and come home. We play on Tuesday!”

Cyrille Regis, former Baggies and Three Lions forward, who died his January at the age of 59, was honored with the PFA’s merit award during the ceremony at London.

Casey Stone, former England captain, who retired from football this year, have picked up PFA Special Achievement award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.