Star-studded Kiwi World Cup Squad Revealed

On April 3rd, New Zealand became the first country to reveal its team for ICC World Cup 2019, and there were no surprises there.

Their explosive top order, made up of names like Martin Guptill, Colin Munro and Tom Latham (also the wicket-keeper), will be bolstered by a vastly experienced middle-order consisting of Henry Nichols, Mr Consistent Kane Williamson, and Ross Taylor who has made a pile of runs lately.

James Neesham has made a comeback, becoming one of the two all-rounders along with Colin de Grandhomme. Then there is Mitchel Santner, who can dry up the runs for the opposition and also play some big shots at the fag end. Ish Sodhi will be the other spinner apart from Santner, while the upcapped Tom Blundell will be the other wicket-keeper.

Swing twins Tim Southee and Trent Boult will handle the fast bowling department, with the raw pace of Lockie Fergusson and control of Matt Henry providing the ultimate support and variety.

Of all the teams revealed so far, the Kiwis look the most settled, and would be hoping that the able leadership of Kane Williamson, one of the Fab Four, (others being Steve Smith, Virat Kohli and Joe Root) can steer them through to the finish line.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Henry Nichols, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchel Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tom Blundell, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Fergusson, Matt Henry

Email: [email protected]

A Law graduate who believes that - "there is always a room for improvement". Aruna is a prolific content writer who explicitly produces content mostly fallen within the fields of – legal, finance, healthcare, and business. She is a person with the attitude of a writer by day and reader by night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *